Skip to Main Content

Being arrested in NJ and charged with a crime will be one of the worst days of your life. We understand that not only are you scared, but your family and loved ones are scared for you. You have a lot of questions and no one is giving you answers. If you are in jail, you are getting even less information. 

We defend individuals charged with crimes in Mercer County, Burlington County, and Middlesex County, New Jersey. Sometimes, your matter is initially heard in Municipal Court, but due to the severity, it is sent to the County Prosecutor for review.  Other times, the charges are so serious, that the County Prosecutor has it from the start.  

​You need a lawyer defending you from the beginning to determine what your defenses are, what type of proof the State will use against you, and if your matter could be sent back down to the Municipal Court.

Degrees And Penalties For New Jersey Crimes

First Degree: 10-20 years in prison, fine up to $200,000.  Some crimes may carry a longer jail sentence
Second Degree: 5-10 years in prison, fine up to $150,000
Third Degree: 3-5 years in prison, fine up to $15,000
Fourth Degree: up to 18 months in prison, fine up to $10,000
Potential penalties also include: 

  • parole
  • probation
  • electronic monitoring
  • mandatory registration as a sex offender
  • restitution
  • loss of your right to legally own a weapon
  • DEDR (Drug Enforcement & Demand Reduction Penalty) assessment for drug related charges: $750.00 for fourth degree, $1,000.00 for third degree, $2,000.00 for second degree and $3,000.00 for first degree.


Expungements In New Jersey

You can expunge or remove certain criminal records and arrests from your criminal record. If an order of expungement is granted, the arrest, conviction and any proceedings related to your arrest will be isolated.

A lot of us make mistakes, especially when we are young. That should not hold you back in life from achieving your goals. It should not prevent you from obtaining a good job. By expunging your record, you remove from your record that stupid thing you did so employers do not see it and you essentially get a fresh start.

Call us today at 609-392-7600 to see if you are eligible for an expungement. If you are not eligible under one of the main statutes, you could be eligible for a clean slate expungement.

Click Here To Learn More About Expungements