Attorney in New Jersey
With the increasing use of Facebook and other social media sites, Cyber-Harassment has become more common. If you have been charged with Cyber-Harassment NJSA 2C:33-4.1 in New Jersey, you need to understand how much trouble you are in.
What Is Needed To Prove A Cyber-Harassment Charge In New Jersey?
The Prosecutor will need to prove that while making a communication in an online capacity via ANY electronic device or through a social networking site AND with a purpose to harass another, you:
- threatened to inflict injury or physical harm to any person or the property of any person;
- knowingly sent, posted, commented, requested, suggested, or proposed any lewd, indecent, or obscene material to or about a person with the intent to emotionally harm a reasonable person or place a reasonable person in fear of physical or emotional harm to his person; or
- threatened to commit any crime against the person or the person’s property
What Degree Is My Cyber-Harassment Charge?
Third Degree if the person is 21 years of age or older at the time of the offense and impersonates a minor for the purposes of cyber-harassing a minor.
Fourth Degree otherwise.
What Are The Penalties For Cyber-Harassment In New Jersey?
Third Degree: 3-5 years in prison, fine up to $15,000
Fourth Degree: up to 18 months in prison, fine up to $10,000
"Mrs.Kristy Bruce Esq. IS an amazing attorney!!! She deserves many promotions and clients!! She has a heart for the people and get's the toughest jobs done. Choose HER, YOU WON'T HAVE ANY REGRET'S THAT YOU DID..FROM START TO FINISH CONCERNING YOUR CASE she will value you individually. GOD BLESS YOU Kristy Bruce and your TEAM. GO GO GO TEAM!!! & WIN."
"They have been our family attorneys for 10 years. Extremely professional. In every case they have handled for us, they have explained every step of the way. IF you looking for a law firm, look no further, they will meet your needs in every way. "