Skip to Main Content

Nobody likes to wake up and go to work, let alone get injured at work. There are a million other things you would rather do with your day. However, that paycheck at the end of the week makes it worth it. What happens if you are injured at work? What happens if you are at work and your back starts hurting, a piece of equipment malfunctions or falls on you, another employee causes injury to you? What happens if you can not work as a result of this? Who will help you pay your bills if you are not receiving a paycheck? Who will pay for medical treatment?

We understand the difficulties that come with being injured while on the job in New Jersey. No one plans to be injured. There is no rainy day fund for getting hurt at work. You hope that your employer will do the right thing and take care of you. However, the employer is more worried about his insurance premiums being increased. Therefore, there is one delay after another when it comes to getting you paid while you are out of work and getting you examined by a doctor. Our lawyers have helped many individuals that have been injured at work get the treatment they need to feel better and get back to work. We know the games that employers play. They are the same games that insurance companies play when it comes time to pay for pain and suffering. We are here to help you get through this hard time.

Potential Causes of Bicycle Accidents in New Jersey

If you were injured while at work, you need to notify your employer ASAP. You can notify a supervisor, manager, human resource department, or anyone in an authoritative position at the job. If you are injured, tell the employer and ask to be seen by a medical doctor. Under the law, the employer or the employer’s worker’s compensation insurance carrier can designate a certain doctor to treat workers injured at the business.

What type of benefits can I receive if I am injured at work?

  1. Medical Benefits: all necessary and reasonable medical treatment, including prescriptions and hospital visits are paid by the employer’s insurance carrier.
  2. Temporary Disability Benefits: If you are injured for a period of time more than seven (7) days, you are eligible for temporary disability benefits of 70% of your average weekly wage. However, that amount can not exceed 75% of the Statewide Average Weekly Wage or fall below the minimum rate of 20% of the Statewide Average Weekly Wage. you can receive these benefits while you are unable to work and under active medical care.                 
  3. Permanent Partial Benefits: if you were injured on the job and it resulted in a partial permanent disability, you can receive benefits based upon a percentage of your losses based on a schedule. 
  4. Permanent Total Benefits: If you are unable to return to any type of gainful employment after the injury or illness, you may be entitled to permanent total disability benefits. These benefits are first paid for a period of 450 weeks. If you are able to show that you remain unable to earn wages after 450 weeks, the benefits may continue. 
  5. Death Benefits: dependents of a worker who died as a result of being injured on the job or an illness may receive death benefits if eligible. A dependent is a surviving spouse and natural children who were part of the decedent’s household at the time of death. If you were not residing with the deceased at the time of death, you must prove dependency. 

Who Pays for My Medical Bills?

Attorney are prohibited by law from charging you a fee in advance for representing you on a worker’s compensation matter. Legal fees are awarded by a judge in the workers’ compensation court when the case is over and only if a compensation award if made. The judge typically awards a 20% fee.​

How much time do I have to file a claim?

There is a two (2) year statute of limitations that applies to workers’ compensation claims. A formal claim petition MUST be filed within two years of the date of your injury or the date of the last payment of compensation, whichever is later.