In New Jersey N.J.S.A. 2C:29-9
What Is Needed To Prove A Contempt Charge In New Jersey?
The Prosecutor will need to prove that you:
a. purposely or knowingly disobeyed a judicial order or protective order, or hindered, obstructed, or impeded the effectuation of a judicial order or the exercise of jurisdiction over any person, thing or controversy by a court, administrative body or investigative entity.
b. purposely or knowingly violated any provision in an order entered under the provisions of the Prevention of Domestic Violence Act of 1991 or an order entered under the provisions of a substantially similar statute.
What Degree Is My Contempt Charge?
Depending on what you did and which type of order you violated, this could be a fourth degree, third degree or disorderly persons offense.
What Are The Penalties For Contempt In New Jersey? Disorderly Persons Offense: 0-6 months in jail, fine up to $1,000
Third Degree: 3-5 years in prison, fine up to $15,000
Fourth Degree: up to 18 months in prison, fine up to $10,000
"Mrs.Kristy Bruce Esq. IS an amazing attorney!!! She deserves many promotions and clients!! She has a heart for the people and get's the toughest jobs done. Choose HER, YOU WON'T HAVE ANY REGRET'S THAT YOU DID..FROM START TO FINISH CONCERNING YOUR CASE she will value you individually. GOD BLESS YOU Kristy Bruce and your TEAM. GO GO GO TEAM!!! & WIN."
"They have been our family attorneys for 10 years. Extremely professional. In every case they have handled for us, they have explained every step of the way. IF you looking for a law firm, look no further, they will meet your needs in every way. "