Statute Of Limitations In New Jersey for Various Civil Actions
A Statute of Limitations is a specific time frame in which you must file your complaint for a certain action. Depending on the type of action, there is a different period you must adhere to. Below is a list of different actions you can bring in New Jersey and when they must be filed. However, to always be safe, it is best to speak with an actual attorney to assess your case to determine an accurate statute of limitations. There are instances where special guidelines or tort claim notices must be followed. If you miss those, it won't matter if you still have time within the statute to file.
- Breach of Contract - 6 years
- Libel or Slander - 1 year
- Personal Injury to Adult - 2 years
- Personal Injury to Minor - 2 years of minor's 18th birthday
- Medical Malpractice to Adult - 2 years from time a person could have or should have known malpractice was committed
- Medical Malpractice to Minor - 2 years of minor's 18th birthday
- Medical Malpractice to Minor at birth - (only if born before July 2004) - 2 years of minor's 18th birthday
- Medical Malpractice to Minor at birth - (only if born after July 2004) - by minor's 13th birthday
- Wrongful Death - 2 years of decedent's death
- Wrongful Death against Public Entity, County, State or Municipal Entity - Adults - notice of claim within 90 days of occurrence.
- Wrongful Death against Public Entity, County, State or Municipal Entity - Minors - no later than within 90 days of person's 18th birthday
- Product's Liability - 2 years